County election slate is finalized by clerk’s office
Rep. Albrecht to face local opposition in June primary
by Greg Knight
The Times-Independent
Mar 22, 2018 | 1512 views | 0 0 comments | 54 54 recommendations | email to a friend | print

The list of names set to appear on Grand County ballots later this year has been finalized for seats on the Grand County Council and Grand County School Board, with the positions of Grand County Clerk/Auditor and Grand County Attorney also featuring competitive races.

The races for Grand County Sheriff and Grand County Surveyor will be unopposed, with Steven White and Lucas Blake running for those seats, respectively.

In the District 1 council race, the trio of Brian Ballard, Pete Gross and Terry Morse will vie to replace Patrick Trim, who is not seeking re-election. In District 3, Natalie McDowell has filed to challenge incumbent Jaylyn Hawks, and Norm Knapp will face incumbent Mary McGann for her at-large seat.

And with Clerk/Auditor Diana Carroll declining to run for a fourth term, the race for her position will go to either Chris Baird, a former member of the Grand County Council, or bookkeeper Lisa DeRees. Grand County Attorney Andrew Fitzgerald has also declined to run again and the election for his seat will go to Steven Byers, Christina Sloan or Stephen Stocks.

Grand County School Board Member Britnie Ellis will run unopposed to retain her seat in District 1, while Ryan Anderson and Katherine Williams will run for the District 4 seat held by Beth Joseph, who has declined to seek re-election.

In the race for the Utah House of Representatives District 70 seat held by Rep. Carl Albrecht, two locals — Ashley Korenblat and Robert Greenberg — are the candidates in the district to run against him in the June primary. Korenblat, the owner of Western Spirit Cycling in Moab, has filed to run as a Republican in the election. Greenberg, a former Grand County Council member and current vice chair of the Grand County Democratic Party, will run unopposed for his party’s nomination.

The deadline for filing a petition for candidacy expired on March 15.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.