Lorraine Erickson named Alpha Rho’s ‘Woman Of The Year’
Jun 07, 2012 | 1971 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Lorraine Erickson was honored last month as the Alpha Rho Woman of the Year, for her work on developing educational programs for the service sorority. Alpha Rho, a Moab chapter of Epsilon Sigma Alpha sorority, presented the award to Erickson during the annual Founder’s Day program on May 10. New officers were also installed during the meeting, officials said.

Alpha Rho members and members of the Beta Zeta chapter from Green River and the Delta Chi chapter in Moab and other guests attended.

The 4th Pallas Athene award was presented to Linda Bynum and Lorraine Erickson, and the 5th Pallas Athene award went to Nori Swanson. Ten members also received perfect attendance awards. The Years of Service awards were presented to Cindy Grusszkiewicz, 30 years, Shannon Wiggins 35 years and Lois Jamison 40 years. Jamison was also honored for being the State of Utah’s local Silver Bowl Award recipient.

Officers for the upcoming year remained the same as last year, with Nori Swanson serving as president, Sue Axtell as vice president, Shirley Brewer as recording secretary, Inalyn Meador as corresponding secretary, Ruthie Christensen as treasurer, Lorraine Erickson as educational director, Tammy Taylor as parliamentarian, Rhea Gramlich as chaplin and Bobbie Long as president’s advisor.

Brenda Tupek received the jewel pin.

A few days later, Alpha Rho hosted the Utah State Council of Epsilon Sigma Alpha International’s 59th annual convention. The three-day event was held May 18-20 at the LaQuinta Inn. There were 55 registered members.

The First General Assembly was held Saturday under the direction of ESA State President Cheryl Havranek. Erin Young and her Girl Scout troop conducted the opening flag ceremony and also retired the flag at the closing assembly on Sunday. Vickie Farris from Idaho, the international convention treasurer, was Utah’s International guest and speaker.

About 80 people attended the istallation of the 2012-2013 state officers. Carolyn Lema of Moab was installed as the new Utah president and Nori Swanson was named first vice president. Terry Marsh will serve as second vice president, Shirley Brewer is corresponding secretary, Sheron Bass is recording secretary, Carol Ekker is treasurer and Joyce Bedont is parliamentarian.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.