2012 election results unchanged by provisional ballots
Nov 21, 2012 | 1883 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
It’s official – Rory Paxman has won a seat on the Grand County Council in council District 5.

He defeated Kalen Jones 287-254 after 37 provisional votes were counted Tuesday, Nov. 20, during the official vote canvass, which certified the election results. Paxman led by 23 votes at the close of balloting Nov. 6.

In other county council results, the final vote count showed incumbent Ken Ballantyne defeating Joe Downard 344-123 in District 2 while unopposed incumbent Lynn Jackson garnered 2,736 votes for the at-large seat and unopposed candidate Elizabeth Tubbs received 691 votes in District 4.

In races for Grand County School Board, incumbent Jim Webster beat Charles Jacobs 571-254 in District 3, Melissa Byrd defeated Stacey Downard 409-89 in District 2, and Peggy Nissen turned back Jeanette Kopell 312-234 in District 5.

Voters rejected Ballot Proposition Initiative 1 by a margin of 2,198-1,634. If passed, it would have created a study committee to consider and possibly recommend a change in Grand County’s form of government.

Seventy-two percent of the county’s registered voters cast ballots in the General Election. A total of 4,005 of the county’s 5,535 registered voters took part.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.