GCHS seniors receive scholarships, recognition on awards night
by Jeff Richards
Contributing Writer
May 29, 2014 | 2352 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Senior Awards Night
Saina Carey of Moab Rotary Club presents Troy Dezelsky with the April Action Car Show $1,000 scholarship and a gift certificate for tools valued at $1,000. Photos by Jeff Richards
Saina Carey of Moab Rotary Club presents Troy Dezelsky with the April Action Car Show $1,000 scholarship and a gift certificate for tools valued at $1,000. Photos by Jeff Richards
Jessica Valdes receives the Grand County Community Service Scholarship from Bruce Louthan on May 21.
Jessica Valdes receives the Grand County Community Service Scholarship from Bruce Louthan on May 21.
Grand County High School’s graduating seniors were presented with scholarships and other awards last Wednesday, May 21, week, during the school’s annual senior awards night.

“Once again, I’m amazed at the generosity and support that our community has shown to our graduating seniors each year,” said GCHS counseling staff member Tamara Larsen, who assisted many of the students in applying for various scholarships.

Outstanding students in each GCHS academic department received certificates. Adam Jenkinson was named the outstanding senior in English, while Deanna Irvin and Nat Smith shared the honors in math. The social studies department recognized five top students: Becca Farnsworth, Adam Jenkinson, Nat Smith, Jackson Knowles, and Terrance Farnsworth. The top art students were Meera Edwards, Kiel Schraft, and Justin Cresswell. In addition, the science, foreign language, and CTE departments each recognized several students who had completed advanced level courses or career pathways.

The school’s 12 Sterling Scholar candidates were also recognized. Two GCHS students were winners and six were runners-up at the regional competition in March.

Becca Farnsworth received the Daughters of the American Revolution’s “Good Citizenship Award.”

At least 20 graduating seniors were also recognized on stage as GCHS principal Dr. Stephen Hren read aloud the college and university scholarships that each had been offered. The awards ranged from a few hundred dollars to a full-ride scholarship to Yale, which valedictorian Adam Jenkinson has accepted.

Jenkinson and salutatorian Deanna Irvin were joined by three other students – Becca Farsworth, Nat Smith, and Terrance Farnsworth – in receiving “Block G” awards for graduating with perfect 4.0 grade-point averages.

Named as “Best All Around” students by the GCHS faculty were Jessica Valdes and Justin Cresswell.

Alexandra Gomez received the class’ prestigious “Wings” award, which is given annually to the student who most diligently supports his or her fellow class members, as voted on by the members of the class.

In addition, Mercedes James and Jacob Francis were named GCHS Athletes of the Year, with Shailee Croasmun and Koi Cook earning runner-up honors. Also, GCHS activities director Ron Dolphin presented scholar-athlete awards to Jessica Valdes and Adam Jenkinson.

Also honored during the evening’s program were GCHS teachers Richard Jenkinson and Ed DeFrancia, both of whom retired after long careers. They spoke during the graduation ceremony the following evening.

The following is a full list of the scholarships awarded: American Legion Post 54: Deanna Irvin ($500); Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 10900: Haley Rice; Back of Beyond Books: Nat Smith ($1,000) and Jasmine Swink ($500); BPOE (Elks Lodge): Becca Farnsworth ($300), Jacob Francis ($300), Mercedes James ($400), Joseph Andrew ($400), Anna Scherer ($500), and Terrance Farnsworth ($500); Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation: Jackson Knowles ($1,000) and Austin Day ($500); Canyonlands Natural History Association: Anna Scherer ($1,500); Moab Chamber of Commerce: Austin Day ($1,500); Colorado Grand Scholarship: Deanna Irvin ($7,500); Eastern Utah Community Credit Union: Sarah Stalpes; Emery Telecom: Joseph Andrew ($1,000), T.J. Mathis ($1,000), and Sarah Stalpes ($1,000); Grand County Credit Union: Reyce Knutson ($500); Grand County Community Service Scholarship: Jessica Valdes and Terrance Farnsworth; Intrepid Potash: Shailee Croasmun, Courtnie Gay, Wiley Sheldon, and Treyton Helquist; Matt Relph Memorial Scholarship: Alena Geiser ($500) and Sarah Stalpes ($1,000); Mayor’s Scholarship: Deanna Irvin ($500); Moab Community Church: Morgan Barlow, Jackson Knowles, and Hunter Stitzer; Moab Half Marathon: Jacob Francis ($500) and Jackson Knowles ($500); Moab Regional Hospital: Jessica Valdes ($1,500); Red Devils Swim Team: Jackson Knowles ($1,000) and Treyton Helquist ($1,000); Red Rock 4-Wheelers: KyAisha Lewis ($2,000) and Shalia Harmison ($2,000); Rod Benders: Garrett Brown and alumna Paige Hass; Rotary Club: Austin Day ($2,000); April Action Car Show: Troy Dezelsky ($1,000, plus tools valued at $1,000); Southeast Utah Title Company: Garrett Brown; St. Francis Episcopal Church: Deanna Irvin; Tom McCourt Veteran and Author Scholarship: Zach Valerio; Wang Organization ($2,500 each): Andy Bathemess, Becca Farnsworth, Miranda Shumway, Kaden Risenhoover and Jasmine Swink.

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.