Dabney, Tanner appointed to Prop. 9 committee
Nov 22, 2018 | 1531 views | 0 0 comments | 83 83 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Grand County Council Member Jaylyn Hawks Nov. 20 nominated resident and former National Park Service superintendent Walt Dabney to serve on a five-member appointment committee that will be tasked with naming members to a seven-member study committee that will hammer out a new form of government for Grand County following the passage of Proposition 9 in the Nov. 6 election.

State lawmakers on Monday named Rex Tanner to the appointment committee. Tanner is a longtime Moab business owner and prior county council member. It has not been determined who will name the remaining members.

There was back and forth between Grand County Council Vice Chair Curtis Wells and Grand County Attorney Andrew Fitzgerald regarding a pair of competing nonbinding legal opinions on the matter. Local Republicans will be in court next week in an effort to settle the issue.

In the end, Dabney was appointed in a 5-1-1 vote, with Council Member Rory Paxman voting no and Vice Chair Curtis Wells abstaining.

In other news, the election canvass is now complete. The election results announced Nov. 6 were made official Tuesday. Grand County Clerk Diana Carroll said it was a busy election with a voter turnout of 84.5 percent. Of 155 provisional ballots cast on Election Day, only 11 were rejected for one reason or another, said Carroll.

“Grand County should be very proud,” said Council Chair Mary McGann. “This is democracy as it should be.”

Copyright 2013 The Times-Independent. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

report abuse...

Express yourself:

We're glad to give readers a forum to express their points of view on issues important to this community. That forum is the “Letters to the Editor.” Letters to the editor may be submitted directly to The Times-Independent through this link and will be published in the print edition of the newspaper. All letters must be the original work of the letter writer – form letters will not be accepted. All letters must include the actual first and last name of the letter writer, the writer’s address, city and state and telephone number. Anonymous letters will not be accepted.

Letters may not exceed 400 words in length, must be regarding issues of general interest to the community, and may not include personal attacks, offensive language, ethnic or racial slurs, or attacks on personal or religious beliefs. Letters should focus on a single issue. Letters that proselytize or focus on theological debates will not be published. During political campaigns, The Times-Independent will not publish letters supporting or opposing any local candidate. Thank you letters are generally not accepted for publication unless the letter has a public purpose. Thank you letters dealing with private matters that compliment or complain about a business or individual will not be published. Nor will letters listing the names of individuals and/or businesses that supported a cause or event. Thank you letters about good Samaritan acts will be considered at the discretion of the newspaper.