Former GCHS football star on watchlist for Outland Trophy

Zane Taylor, an offensive linemen for the University of Utah football team, has been named to the 2010 Outland Trophy Award watch list on Monday, June 21. Taylor is a 2006 graduate of Grand County High School.

A senior at the U of U, the 6-foot 2-inch and 310-pound Taylor, 22, has started at the position of center for the last two years. He was named to the All-Conference honorable mention team two years ago and the All-Conference second team last year.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The Football Writers Association of America awards the Outland Trophy to the best interior lineman each year.

The trophy is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at the University of Pennsylvania and Kansas at the turn of the century. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.

Of the 63 players on the watch list, only one other is from the University of Utah – guard Caleb Schlauderaff. Three other players from the Mountain West Conference are also on the list: tackle Matt Reynolds from Brigham Young University, center Jake Kirkpatrick from Texas Christian University (TCU) and tackle Marcus Cannon, also from TCU. Both Taylor and Schlauderaff are three-time Academic All-MWC recipients.

Taylor was also recently named a pre-season All-American (fourth team) in Phil Steele’s 2010 College Football Preview magazine.