Friday, July 10, 2020


Moab, UT

79.1 F

    City voters re-elect incumbents to council

    Featured Stories

    Tales of Trails: Savor spectacular views from thrilling Shafer Trail

    In the 1890s, Moab pioneer brothers Frank M. And John S. Shafer developed the route from what had been a Native American pathway connecting what is now Canyonlands National Park to the river below.

    At 99, Moab man is knighted by France

    “The French people will never forget his courage and devotion to the great cause of freedom,”

    Leaving Guatemala, Part 4: ‘A year in the land of eternal spring’

    Though I planned to return someday, whether as a Peace Corps volunteer or not, this experience proved that even the best-laid plans go awry.

    Leaving Guatemala, Part 3: Sudden departure came with painful goodbyes

    Men donned wooden masks and numerous layers of sweatshirts and ponchos then proceeded to hit each other with whips as they danced around the town square.

    Leaving Guatemala Part 2: There wasn’t enough time to say goodbye

    To say I woke up on the Monday morning of the evacuation...
    Carter Pape
    Carter Pape
    Reporter Carter Pape covers news out of the Grand County Council Chambers, including housing, tourism, crime, and more.
    From left, Rani Derasary, Tawny Knuteson-Boyd and Kalen Jones

    Of the 2,571 registered voters in Moab, 69 percent cast ballots in Tuesday’s election Nov. 5, re-electing each of the incumbents to the city council through the end of 2023.

    The incumbents received a majority of votes cast, as ballots allowed up to three candidates to be selected. Rani Derasary, received votes on 922 ballots, or 52 percent; Tawny Knuteson-Boyd received votes on 913 ballots, or 51.5 percent; Kalen Jones’s 900 votes accounted for 50.8 percent of ballots.

    A gap of almost 3 percent of ballots cast differentiated the winner with the least votes and the loser with the most votes – Kenneth G. Minor – whose 853 votes accounted for 48.1 percent of ballots cast. M. Bryon Walston received 783 votes, accounting for 44.2 percent of ballots, and Kendall Jenson received 752 votes, or 42.4 percent of ballots.

    Referendum on growth strategy?

    On the morning after the election, Kevin Walker, a member of the Grand County Planning Commission, said he thought the election results indicated Moab voters’ preference for “smart growth” in an election he called a “referendum on smarter and stricter regulation of hotels,” and related topics.

    “Walston and Jenson were the two candidates most closely associated with minimally regulated growth,” Walker said, “and they came in a distant fifth and sixth place.” Walker added that he thought “the smart growth candidates won decisively.”

    More money, more problems

    Lining the candidates up by self-reported campaign contributions shows that, on its own, campaign funding did not determine the outcome of the 2019 Moab City Council election, as there was no clear correlation between the two.

    As a primary example, Walston raised the most money of all the candidates with $9,700, more than double the next person behind him–Derasary–yet placed fifth overall in the final results. Walston’s fundraising was primarily propped up by his own contributions to his campaign, with $4,000 coming out of his own pocket.

    Knuteson-Boyd raised the least in campaign contributions, with $2,100 from both the primary and general elections. Derasary raised $4,600 in campaign donations; Minor, Jones and Jenson each raised between $2,500 and $3,700.

    Share this!

    - Advertisement -

    Latest News

    County: Mask mandate is official

    Southeast Utah Health Department Director Bradon Bradford modeled the local order after those in Salt Lake and Summit counties.

    Lionsback Resort project begins on Sand Flats Road

    The City of Moab will have oversight of the project, which was not something that was always on the table because state law allows SITLA to develop projects without input from local authorities.

    Drought conditions grip Utah; stats are grim

    It’s unlikely things will improve this late in the water year.

    State provides 75,000 more facemasks for Moab businesses, visitors

    Local businesses may pick up free face coverings at the Canyonlands Copy Center, 375 S. Main St., in Moab.

    County approves letter opposing September gas lease sales

    The oppositional letter asserts that the lease sale “threatens the core of our tourism economy by locking in long-term oil and gas leases on and around popular recreation areas that are vital to our local economy.”